Rules of Golf Review: I stepped on the fairway after it rained and water came up around my ball. Do I get relief?
Among the countless changes to the Rules of Golf in the past five or six years is the terminology used to describe certain things or situations. For example, using the term “all square” in match play when describing a situation when neither side is up. That is soooo pre-2019. The term is now simply “tied.” Also, you’ll be tempted to say you’re in a “water hazard” when it goes into a pond or stream, but your ball is actually in a “penalty area” according to the USGA and R&A.
Speaking of penalty areas, there are times after heavy rains when water rises to the point that it creeps outside the hazard, em, penalty area and into the general area of the course. (General area, by the way, also is a relatively new term and will be addressed in a moment.)
You might be familar with the phrase “casual water.” That is also a dated term in the Rules of Golf. What you should say now is “temporary water,” and you are entitled to free relief from this abnormal ground condition if the amount of moisture on the ground meets some important requirements.
Taking the example in the headline, if you press down on grass in the general area of the course and water rises to the point where it’s visible, you might think your ball is resting in temporary water and therefore, you’re entitled to relief. However, that’s not the case.
More From Golf Digest


Any temporary accumulation of water on the surface of the ground (such as puddles from rain or irrigation or an overflow from a body of water) that:
- Is not in a penalty area and
- Can be seen before or after the player takes a stance (without pressing down excessively with their feet).
The definition goes on to add a key caveat to file away: “It is not enough for the ground to be merely wet, muddy or soft or for the water to be momentarily visible as the player steps on the ground; an accumulation of water must remain present either before or after the stance is taken.”

453350482
The Rules of Golf state that in order to get free relief from temporary water, the water must be seen before or after taking a stance.
Fred Vuich
The takeaway here is that if you're about to take your normal stance and water is present, you’re allowed to take free relief. And that means finding the nearest point no closer to the hole that gives you complete relief from the water. You get a one club-length drop in this zone.
Getting back to the overflow from a penalty area, you would indeed get free relief from water outside the margins of the red or yellow area. It’s not considered part of the penalty area, it's likely in the general area.
A few more notes on temporary water: Dew and frost are not part of the definition. No relief. Snow and natural ice, however, can be treated either as a loose impediment or temporary water. And if you spill your drink on the turf by your ball, the ice on the ground is considered an obstruction.
MORE GOLF DIGEST RULES REVIEWS More From Golf Digest

